Board of Directors

2022-23 Board of Directors

Ms. Maria Becerra

Board Chair
Lake County

Ms. Jeanne Wease

Vice Chair
Lake County

"It is an honor to serve as the Board Chair for NWICA. I have watched, and hopefully helped, this organization achieve its mission for nearly 20 years."
NWICA’s board is comprised of an esteemed group of people. We are representatives of our public sectors, people who qualify for services, and private business leaders who all govern and guide in the best interest of the organization. We are a board that cares genuinely and understands the value a Community Action Agency and an Area Agency on Aging bring to our local communities. We are proud of the hard working, dedicated staff who ensure the agency is in compliance with our funding sources while serving 50,000 people a year.  As our community needs continue to grow, this organization continues to innovate, expand, and collaborate on services to ensure persons with financial needs and other supports get help. Our aim is to support all of our eligible participants, in our most rural and urban pockets, to get the right services, at the right time, and to create financial and healthy independence."

Maria Becerra -NWICA Board Chair

NWICA Governing Bylaws

Annual Report

  • Tim Brown, Lake County Community Economic Development Department, Lake County
  • Andrea Proulx Buinicki, Center for Workforce Innovations, Porter County
  • Maggie Clifton, City of Valparaiso, Porter County
  • Howard Conner, Pulaski County
  • Yolanda Davis, Centier Bank,  Lake County
  • Louis Gonzalez, Ivy Tech, Lake County
  • Nina Johnson, City of Gary, Lake County
  • Deborah Kristoff, Jasper County Public Library, Jasper County
  • Andrew Kyres, Lake County
  • Harry Langbehn, First Financial Bank, Lake County
  • Dr. Sharron Liggins, Continuum of Care, Lake County
  • Jordan Stanfill, Housing Opportunities, Porter County

Board Member Emeritus

  • Mr. Al Hammonds
  • Ms. Elsie Franklin

AAA Advisory Council Representative

  • Open

December 2022 Board Nominations

One of the important features of Community Action Agencies is that the people served have a voice in the programs and decisions that affect them.  One of the ways we do this is to have at least one-third of our Board of Directors be people who are directly impacted by NWICA’s mission and programs.

Currently there is an opening on our Board of Directors for a representative of low-income families or communities served by NWICA in Jasper, Lake, LaPorte, Newton, Porter, Pulaski, and Starke Counties.

Submissions for nominations are now closed. 


The election period will be from January 10 to January 16, 2023. Anyone desiring to cast a ballot must be 18 years of age and a resident of one of the counties indicated. Ballots will be cast electronically at  or by mailing a paper ballot to ATTN: Board of Directors Election, NWICA, 5240 Fountain Drive, Crown Point, IN 46307.  Ballots will be made available on January 8 and can be obtained on NWICA’s website at Board Nominations  Electronic ballots will be available on January 10, 2023 and will remain available through January 16, 2023. All ballots must be received by 12pm Central Time on Monday, January 16, 2023.

Election results will be accepted by the Board of Directors during a regularly scheduled meeting.

Scan or click to submit an electronic ballot


Download, print and mail the last page of this form.